Past I-Bowl participants to play in 2011 Senior Bowl

Shreveport, La. – Seven individuals who played in the Independence Bowl from 2007-2010 will participate in the 2011 Under Armour Senior Bowl on Sat. Jan. 29 at 3 p.m. in Mobile, Ala.

The game will be held at Ladd-Peebles Stadium and will be televised on the NFL Network. The Senior Bowl started in 1950 in Jacksonville, Fla. but since 1951 has been played annually in Mobile.

Georgia Tech running back Anthony Allen, who rushed for 94 yards and a touchdown in the 2010 AdvoCare V100 Independence Bowl against Air Force, is part of the roster along with Texas A&M’s Von Miller (2009), Georgia’s Clint Boling (2009), and five players who participated in the 2007 I-Bowl (Jalil Brown and Nate Solder of Colorado and James Carpenter, Preston Dial, and Greg McElroy of Alabama).

The Senior Bowl Hall of Fame and list of past Senior Bowl Game MVPs includes several past Independence Bowl participants including Brett Favre and many more.

The AdvoCare V100 Independence Bowl celebrated its 35th anniversary on Dec. 27, 2010 as Air Force defeated Georgia Tech at Independence Stadium.

Information on becoming a member of the Independence Bowl Foundation or a corporate sponsor of the bowl is also available at the Bowl Office located on the ground floor of the American Tower in downtown Shreveport at 401 Market Street, Suite 120. Those interested may also contact the Bowl Office at 318.221.0712 or toll free at 888.414.BOWL (2695) or visit the bowl’s official website at